BobS has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question Why does everyone dog Tri. pushdowns so much?

I'm still on the fence about choosing the tri. workout I will use for the winter (comp. next spring). I have been changing up exercises for the last two months and have to admit, out of:

CG bench
    lying extensions (skulls)
    dips
    seated french press (overhead with an ez-curl bar for amusclehead)
    one-arm dumbell extensions behing the head
    two arm db extensions behind the head
    pushdowns with straight bar
    pushdowns with rope
    reverse push downs (actually more like a pull down)

the pushdowns with the rope are the cat's ass for the lateral head. I can hit the long head great with the CG bench and skulls, and the one-arm overhead extensions hit the medial, but can anyone honestly say there is a better exercise for isolating the lateral head of the tricep?

I know everyone is different and respond to certain exercises better than others, but this seems like simple muscle bio-mechanics to me. I can not stress the lateral head as well with any of the other movements. I'll admit, for OVERALL tri. mass, pushdowns may not be the smartest choice, but I feel you should target all three heads specifically in your workout.

Train smarter not harder amusclehead's Avatar
    amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000)
    because they're not as efficient. when i workout i want to spend minimal time, and get max. results