oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) oceansapart has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Thumbs up Previous back injury- should I deadlift again?

20 years ago I badly herniated 2 discs, l 4-5 area. 17 years ago I had laminectomy / discectomy to correct it. (had to repeat the procedure a year later)

I am feeling really good now, mostly because of years of yoga and stretching. The last 2 years I started lifting weights again on a regular routine 3x a week. I don't have any back pain at all doing squats or deadlift, but I'm very careful, and keep the weights light.

I want to get stronger, and am thinking about going heavier. Is this foolish? My doctor said take it easy, but wtf does he know

squat, eat, rest, repeat. gleason73's Avatar
    gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000) gleason73 is a name known to all. (+5000)
    Originally Posted by oceansapart View Post
    20 years ago I badly herniated 2 discs, l 4-5 area. 17 years ago I had laminectomy / discectomy to correct it. (had to repeat the procedure a year later)