nbk41hm has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Odd occurrence with weight

So I have been running a 10% calorie deficit to maintenance for a few months now using the guidelines written out by Emma-Leigh (who I owe a great debt of thanks). Combined with the Rippetoe Starting Strength lifting program I have lost 1-1.5 each week for the past three months by a weigh-in first thing each Saturday morning.

Now here it is Saturday morning and I stepped in the scale expecting to see something in the 191lb range, from 192.2 the prior week.

Instead, what I got was 195.6, which was quite a surprise.

I am really curious as to what might have caused this swing, which I have to think (and hope) is largely a variance in water weight. How on earth could one screw up their calorie math to gain three pounds in a week?

Couple of added variables:
    This week was a sales conference week. I still measured my calorie intake carefully and even snuck out to get my weight room time in.

However:
    1. I didn't sleep well because of the jet lag.
    2. We were out past 2am drinking one night. Normally I don't drink and was somewhat hung over yesterday (Friday).
    3. I added 5grams of creatine daily to my diet about two weeks ago. Understanding there is some added water penetration to the muscles using creatine, it still seems like quite a swing.

Based on these observations, does anyone have a comment on what might have prompted the weight swing?

Thank you!