Deziyou has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Transitioning from Corporate World to Personal Training...

Has anyone done this? I work in the oil and gas industry where there is a lot of potential to earn great money, however, I feel like the corporate environment is sucking the life out of me. I hate the idea of sitting at a desk all day know how bad it is for my body and I want to be able to move around more and talk to people. At my job, you pretty much keep your nose in your computer and get your job done, there is quite a bit of stress and I just don't have much motivation for it anymore. I am constantly wanting to look up more information relating to health and fitness. My husband and I have kicked around the idea of opening a supplement shop in our hometown of about 22,000 (there is currently 1 GNC that seems to do well), but I thought even if we did that, having the supplemental income of personal training until we start seeing a profit on that would be wise. I would prefer happiness over more money, but I still have to pay the bills.

Has anyone left a well-paying corporate career for PT?

Come at me, bro! foodandfitness's Avatar
    foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) foodandfitness is a splendid one to behold. (+10000)
    I have not. I've set up everything in my life to make me a better trainer and dietitian. However, I'll give you my 2 cents:

Start small and keep your job. Work with clients on the weekends and get a feel for it.