Thread: Feeling "stuck"

JmfG318 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Feeling "stuck"

Hi guys, I'm new to posting but not new to the forums/site. Self admitted "lurker." I am having some issues with my goals. I have been lifting heavy and hard for two years, prior to that I was a distance runner until recurring stress fractures convinced me otherwise. I'm 5'6, 135lbs and 24 years old. I did recover from extreme anorexia in my teens. Anyway, I am questioning as to whether I have metabolic damage from the excessively low calories for such an extended period of time. I have put on quality mass (started lifting at 120lb) but my body is always quick to store fat. I follow a clean diet, meal prep, etc, and expected fat gains while eating in a calorie surplus. However, now that I'm trying to lose the fat I've stored, (it's primarily located on my midsection) it does not want to budge. I've lowered my calories to roughly 1500-1600, and added more cardio while continuing to lift and am still seeing no progress.

I'm at a loss of what to do from here. I know I've read that you cannot cut if there's nothing to cut (i.e calories etc) and I feel as if I'm getting close to that point where I don't know how (or what) to reduce. I know I need to be in a deficit to lose fat, and I do believe I am creating one through the lowered calories and increased cardio, however the fat is not moving.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

jsfitnesssolutionsllc.com nacersusaf's Avatar