james5741 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Unhappy Push plateau help!!

Hi
    Basically my shoulder press (30kg dumbells), military press (70kg), bench press (95kg) etc have been stuck at around the same level for about a year now. I eat a lot, I sleep a lot and I train hard so obviously, i'm pretty confused. Thing is my deadlift, squat, bent over row etc etc have been progressing well so its just an issue with my pushing. Don't really have a clue what to do so any advice would be hugely welcomed. I'm 18, 6 ft 1, 178lbs and I've been lifting for just over 2 years.
    Cheers!

Peterrnguyen has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    I'm no expert by any means, but it seems like you're doing everything you should be doing to be able to lift heavier. What kind of workouts are you doing? For heavier weights I believe you should be going heavy, around 3-4 sets and you shouldn't be able to push out no more than 5 reps is what I've been hearing. Also, what kind of foods are you eating? Are you getting a good balance of healthy fats, complex carbs and protein?

Originally Posted by Peterrnguyen View Post
    I'm no expert by any means, but it seems like you're doing everything you should be doing to be able to lift heavier. What kind of workouts are you doing? For heavier weights I believe you should be going heavy, around 3-4 sets and you shouldn't be able to push out no more than 5 reps is what I've been hearing. Also, what kind of foods are you eating? Are you getting a good balance of healthy fats, complex carbs and protein?
    That's exactly what i've been doing, last few weeks ive tried a higher rep range to see if its an issue with endurance but i cant say it's made any difference. Yeah my diet is good and clean. I was thinking it might be a triceps weakness, but i train them just as hard and frequently as everything else hahaa

Peterrnguyen has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)