subejus has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

n00b looking for advice and insight

Hey all,

This is my first time posting here and I'm looking for some insight into my routine as well as what I can expect with respect to progress. A little background about me, I'm 25 now and the last time I had lifted regularly before this recent stint was when I was 19, about 6 years ago now...

I've been lifting on average about 6 days a week for close to three months now following this routine: (google: Power Muscle Burn 5 Day Powerbuilding Split, I can't post a link). The routine calls for five days in a week but I've been going an average of 6 days as opposed to the workout's recommended 5 and that day off usually comes from a day I can't physically make it to the gym (otherwise it would be daily). I also supplement that with around an hour of HIIC 5 times a week.

The gains so far have been fantastic (e.g. I started at an 85 lb (3 x 3) bench and am now at 135 lbs (4 x 4) with a max 1 rep at 160lbs now) and I'm wondering if anyone knows how long I can expect to keep making strength gains like that. I've heard the term 'noob gains' before but from what I've read that's when someone gets a combination of fat loss and muscle gain when they just start out but I'm not sure if that's applicable here or not (I also read it doesn't exist).

My current goals are to get cut and strong (hypertrophy is secondary for me) but my diet is currently at parity with my BMR (I find I get fatigued if I run a deficit).

Thanks for any tips!