Ethanthacker has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Why can't I do more sets?

Hey guys noob here, just wanted to ask a quick question.

I feel experienced, I have been training two and a half years, and I look at my routine and compare with others and my sets seem lacking...

For instance, 12-16 sets for chest is recommended for hypertrophy. I do 3 sets dumbell bench, and 3 sets incline or decline (I alternate) after that i feel BURNED out. And it's not just chest, its everywhere, I maybe do 6-8 sets per muscle group. I have seen decent results but would like to step it up!

So do i need to just man up and keep going? I feel like i wont be able to move much weight after those 6-8 sets. Or do i lighten up my initial sets to leave some in the tank for later? Or jut keep going?

gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10) gregorymcm is on a distinguished road. (+10)
    How are you training during your first initial sets? are you training to failure? What is your rep scheme? and how is your diet?

Your diet and training consistency will be the factors to focus on when you feel burned out in the gym. Make sure you are sleeping enough as well.
    Current 1 Rep Maxes:

Flat BB Bench press: 275X1
    Deadlift: 410X1
    Squats: 325X1

Goal 1 Rep Maxes:

Flat BB bench press: 315X1
    Deadlift: 495X1
    Squats: 405X1

Originally Posted by gregorymcm View Post
    How are you training during your first initial sets? are you training to failure? What is your rep scheme? and how is your diet?