EricJens has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Smile Am I really "overtraining"? Really?

Hi guys,

I'm new. Not just to bodybuilding.com, but bodybuilding period. I'm not necessarily new to fitness, but I'm new to strength training. I was a cross country runner in high-school (4 years ago), but we never really did any REAL weight training. So I never gained any REAL muscle. I went to college, stopped running, and got flabby. Now I'm trying to get back in shape. I'm starting off with bodyweight stuff because a.) I'm pretty weak and b.) I want to get strong enough to move my body around before I start any serious weight training. Also I'm interested in eventually doing things like planches and one-arm headstand pushups. So I've been doing a Push/Pull kind of split. My push days, I do push-ups and dips. On my pull days, I'll do pullups and inverted rows. I try to do all of them slowly, with perfect form, and a full range of motion. Needless to say I can't do very many reps right now. I've been alternating my Push/Pull days with one day off a week. So two days ago, I was able to do 3 sets of 5 pullups. But today I could only do 2 sets of 4 and 1 set of 3 1/2. I MIGHT have done them more slowly, but I'm not positive... So my question is should I cut back so I do pullups 2 days a week? I know I need to train legs, so I could throw in a leg day or two which would balance my workouts to hitting everything twice a week. What do you guys think? I would appreciate any advice you veterans have for a newbie.

Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000) Grizvok is a name known to all. (+5000)