lallers has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Exclamation Working towards Spartan Race

TL;DR
    A Spartan Race is being held in my state near the end of the year. My ultimate goal is to compete, do well, and finish the race. I'm not a complete novice in the fitness realm but I (Just like most people) could still use a lot of help from the knowledgeable people in these forums. I've started running, just to get back in the rhythm. I have experience with Kris Gethin's Transformation, which I followed strictly and had decent success with for strength. However, I don't recognize any of the workouts on bodybuilding.com as being suitable for my goal of participating in the spartan race. I'm probably completely wrong, hence the help needed!

My apologies if this isn't in the proper section either. I'm more than willing to move it or have it moved if need be.

Stats of myself:
    264 lbs.
    30+% Bodyfat (I don't have an accurate measurement to date)
    6'

My initial strategy is to run until i'm able to run at least 2 miles using HIT without breaking and doing workouts with body weight (bench dips, squats, ect.) I don't have the extra funds at the moment for the gym. That will come in another month or two.

A little history for anyone wondering: