AmberCPT has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Stroke survivor client: NEED HELP!

I have a new client that is a stroke survivor. She's 58 and has left side weakness. Her doctor recomended she exercise and hire a personal trainer. I'm fairly new to personal training and would very much appreciate any suggestions or input as to what I could do with her. She will be coming in for sessions with a 32 year old, healthy and injury free female who is looking to lose weight. I will be training them at the same time so I'm having a little trouble coming up with similar and modified movements and exercises.

Thanks!

PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50) PeteratCastle will become famous soon enough. (+50)
    Run a very comprehensive range of motion test on her before you do anything. I would set an hour apart just to see what she can do. Get her to get a note from her doctor that shows she is OK to exercise and what the doctor recommends she works on. The doc will probably tell you exactly what to do to be honest.

Edit; also give her plenty of homework to do and show her how she can do things herself.

Exercises both can do would be lunges, which a easily adaptable. You'll also have to have her do loads of stretching as the muscles might me contracted quite a bit. Give her weights to train her left arm etc if she is right handed get her to do as much as possible with the weaker left hand, such as grabbing things from a cupboard etc

If you do this right you'll have a very happy customer