thompson13b has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Need help/guidance for one of my Soldiers in my unit.

I have a Soldier who is about to get kicked out of the Army for busting weight and tape. He has been given plenty of chances, and he brought this upon himself, however since he just had a kid, my commander is trying to give him yet another chance. I have been tsked as the NCO to get him to within tape standards by mid january. He is currently 245lbs, and 28% body fat using the Army's not so accurate body fat calculator. His target weight is 194, which I know I cant get him to in this short ammount of time, but if i can get him down to 22-24% body fat it might save his job. I would really appreciate any guidance, or workout suggestions from anyone here that would know how to do this, im not a total noob in the gym, but I have never really worked out with a plan. I will be able to take this kid to the gym 2 times a day most days, and I plan on putting him on an eliptical or treadmill in the morning because during pt hours the weight room is packed. In the afternoon I thought I would have him doing light to medium weight compound weight training, i do not want him to add weight, but I know that weight training large muscle groups will boost his metabolism. Any help anyone can give would be great, this guy is a good Soldier, with 1 deployment to a very bad part of Afghanistan, where he did his job as an artilleryman well, and I would like to make his last chance to stay in the military as successful as posible. Any advice or guidance would be helpful, thank you.