Trooper89 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Pre-workout.. right before bed?

Hi.. I'm new. Anyway. Been looking through the forum and seen some good suggestions, but I've never used PWOs before, and I've got an interesting dilemma.

I work at night, 10 hour shift. I prefer to work out on an empty stomach, so I hit the gym in the afternoon right after I wake up. Then I go to work, blah blah blah, go home and go right to bed. I'm not satisfied with my progress, but doing a heavy-duty workout in the afternoon makes me very tired when I go to work.. not a great way to start the day. Then when I leave work, I'm usually dog-tired.

So I have two options: A) find a PWO (or anything other than sugared-up energy drinks!) that will keep me going through the night, or B) find a PWO that will give me enough energy to workout hard in the morning, but not keep me awake afterward. Personally I prefer option B, because that gives me the ability to work out twice a day.

If it helps, this is my gym routine: right after waking up, weighted pullups and dips, 5x week. Lunch break, 3 maximum effort sets of pushups, 5x week. Second workout (3-4x week) would be a CrossFit style metcon.