N1x has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question Pain in right shoulder while doing push-ups

Hi all,

I feel pain somewhere between "deltoid muscle" and "long head of biceps" of my right shoulder while doing pushups. I'd like to mention that I'm 21 and never did exercise earlier, so thought its because I'm a beginner and kept on doing pushups. I've been doing push-ups for 1 month now, doing 5-6 rounds of 5 push ups everyday. The pain doesn't seem to reduce and I kind of collapse after 5 push-ups, then take rest and start again. Any suggestions to improve the condition?

No reply?

__r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500) __r is a jewel in the rough. (+500)
    Do you squeeze your shoulder blades when you do push-ups? If you don't, the exercises can be harmful for your shoulders and cause the shoulder pain you describe in your post.

Other than that, do additional back exercises like body weight rows or pull-ups/chin-ups to avoid a chest/back imbalance, which can also cause shoulder pain.

Registered User missiontomuscle's Avatar
    missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10) missiontomuscle is on a distinguished road. (+10)