kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) kickflip179 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Am I overtraining/is it making me gain weight?

I have been working out for about 2 years now and I have have gained some good muscle mass and was happy how I looked around 190-200. I have since upped my training because I was looking for more results and I feel like my workouts would be considered overtraining. An example of one of my workout would be:

Lat Pulldown 10 x 8
    Low Row 10 x 6
    Dumbbell Row 10 x 7
    Barbell Row 10 x 6
    Barbell Curls 7 x 10
    Dumbbell Curls 4 x 12
    Hammer Curls 4 x 12

My workouts can take anywhere from 2-3 hours and over the course of the last 6 months I have added a good amount of muscle but also put on a good amount of fat without really changing what I eat. I eat 6 meals a day. Is the fat gain caused by overtraining or do I just need some cardio? I feel like my cortisol levels are high because of the long workouts. Also the increased workout duration and increased number of sets may have to do with the fact that I have OCD. I feel like I have to do more and more. But I really would like to know if the workout is causing fat gain/ would I gain more muscle with a lower number of sets. I know everyone says 12-16 for big body parts but I am still seeing gains with the quantity I am doing. Any advice would help! Thanks!

Registered User perpendicularis's Avatar