Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    AVI: 179 pounds. Jelly? ThCweights's Avatar
    ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000) ThCweights is just really nice. (+1000)

The truth about Repetition Ranges and Muscular Hypertrophy (Srs Thread)(Good Info)

Quick Intro:

So joking threads aside I wanted to put up an informative thread for the misc, I would say I'm pretty savvy when it comes to weight lifting and muscle growth - as I've been lifting for about 2 1/2 years consistently now and have done a lot of research.

[This thread might be tl;dr but honestly if you do not take the time to read it you're just missing out on some useful information]

I found rep ranges was always my biggest pet peeve when I was in the gym. I'd have people telling me low rep high weight for muscle growth and high rep low weight for getting 'tone' (I know you've all heard this one before). LIFT HEAVY disregard form (serious). I even had a guy at my gym who has an impressive physique tell me that anything above 8 reps is useless - but I beg to differ, and so does factual information that surpasses bro-science.

The goal of this thread is to enlighten some of my fellow miscers on being effective in the gym.

Muscle Hypertrpophy

Muscle Hypertrophy is simply an increase in the size of muscle cells. (It differs from Muscle Hyperplasia, which is the formation of new muscle cells - usually only possible with unnatural means.)

There are two types of Muscle Hypertrophy