EscapeYourMind has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Power rack in an apartment + noise dampening

I am just starting out with weight lifting with a primary goal of gaining some mass and definition. I figure the best way to do this is with squats, bench press, deadlifts, pullups, and dips. I do not have a lot of time during the week so I would like to workout in my 2nd floor apartment if possible. Which is why I have decided the best thing to do is just get a power rack and some weights so I can safely workout by myself on my own schedule. From searching the forums I know there shouldn't be a weight issue with the floor but the noise issue has been brought up before without much discussion. What I am wondering is do you guys think it is possible to dampen the noise with things such as foam padding on the floor, on the spotter bars, and bar rests so as to not disturb my downstairs neighbor?

One thing to note about my situation is that I am not a typical body builder. I am tall and very skinny (6ft, 145lbs, <10% body fat) and can not lift much weight so the amount of weight that I would potentially be moving around is a lot less than most people on this site.

Also because of this I'm looking for a cheap minimal power rack. The rack itself doesn't need to support a lot of weight. If anyone has any suggestions for a power rack that would be helpful too.

Thanks!

shutterup has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    I am in the same boat as you are, I live in a hi rise building and looking at power racks. To cut down noise i got me some 3/8inch mats off ebay and i went to tractor supply and got some 3/4inch horse stall mats which are good but stink a lot, goes away after a while. if i had to do it over i would have stall mats all the way and save a ton of money.

As far as weights I was going to get regular plates but that would be too noisy so Im getting some bumper plates which will work great for noise reduction and no floor damages.