brendanscott has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Red face What am I doing wrong? (Weak squat)

Hi there,

I started training again in a general sort of way in May, and I began following Starting Strength in earnest about a month ago. I’ve made some decent progress but my squat gains have lagged way behind gains in my other lifts. Weirdly, I can bench more than I can squat. I’m 34, 6’3”, 208 lbs, est. body fat 25-30%. I’ve never responded that well to weight training, but then again I never followed any kind of sustained, organized approach, so who knows.

Here’s my #s:

May 17/23 2011:

Squat: 3 X 5 X 115
    Bench: 3 X 5 X 95
    Deadlift: 1 X 5X 115
    Press: 3 X 5 X 65
    Pendlay Row: 3 X 5 X 75

August 21/24 2011:

Squat: 3 X 5 X 135
    Bench: 3 X 5 X 140
    Deadlift: 1 X 5X 175
    Press: 3 X 5 X 90
    Pendlay Row: 3 X 5 X 100

So my % increases per exercise are as follows:

Squat: +17%
    Bench: +47%
    Deadlift: +52%
    Press: +38%
    Row: +33%

After reading Starting Strength, I had the impression that squats were the exercise that improved most dramatically with training. My diet is pretty good, I’m eating much more than I used to and supplementing with protein powder, but squatting is just tough as hell for me.

I’m wondering if I should add in some lunges, ab/adductor exercises, running etc. to address some as-yet unknown weakness that is stalling my squat?

I’m also okay with just sticking to the program and seeing what happens, continuing to improve my form, etc. But I thought I’d ask if there’s something I’m missing.

Any input is appreciated.
    Last edited by brendanscott; 08-29-2011 at 11:52 AM.

Lifting to Avoid COVID-19 PeterGibbons316's Avatar