Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10) Jeffro72 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Benefits of multi-sets?

I worked multi-sets for years and made great progress. Then I stopped working out for years.

I started lifting again recently, and temporarily started doing only doing one set per exercise, compound movements only, to get me acclimated to the weight and movements. And I'm also stopping a few reps short of failure, so it's not truly HIT (which I never liked).

I've been making great progress this way. I figure progressive resistance is the thing working here, so as long as I am able to add weight to the bar (however small) over time (however long), I'm making progress. I'm not in any rush here and want to do things right.

Lately, I've considered increasing the sets from one to three, but since I'm making progress doing just one set, I don't want to fix what isn't broken. Additionally, I know I'd have to drop the weight some to be able to pull off more sets. I want to keep the poundages going up slowly but surely as they are right now.

The only thing I can think multiple sets would do better over a single set, is cause more microtrauma per workout, but then this would require more time for recovery I would think.

Would anyone have inputs on why multi-sets would be better overall?