JDevenger has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question Bench weight going down? Need a little advice.

Hello everybody, I just made this account today to seek out some advice. I am pretty new to lifting and the such, and have gotten myself into a bit of a pickle, and I need some help getting out of it.

A little background about myself, I started doing some strength training for the first time around January / February. Ive always been a bigger dude, and had big strong legs, but I have found my arms and chest to be lacking, as I have never trained them before.

My main goal, is to shred my remaining fat, and get bigger in the process.

I am 20 years old, 6 foot, and weighed about 242 when I started working out, and I am down to about 195 lbs currently. I started out trying to run every day, and consistently worked out twice a week with a friend. Basically we had a chest day, and an arm day.

My main problem as of recently has been benching, as I have never really felt 100% comfortable with my technique.

Things went great for the first few months, my workout partner is smaller than me in weight, and physical build. He is a little shorter and about 30 lbs lighter than me. He has been lifting a lot longer than me, so It didnt bother me that he was putting up more than myself. After the months went on, both of our bench weights went up pretty quickly, and I just about caught up with him, and I was feeling pretty good about my self.