dmonk2006 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

New to Bodybuilding

I am completely new to bodybuilding, but not strength training. I stayed in the weight room in high school, and I have recently got back in the gym after a six year hiatus. Bodybuilding is my new reason for lifting instead of football. I have developed a workout after conducting extensive research on bodybuilding, but I want some opinions on it. I was doing a 12, 10, 8, 6, 4 set/rep scheme here recently, but I did not feel like I was getting good lifts on the sets of 6 and 4. It seemed like a great, well-rounded workout like Arnold did (pyramiding), but I am not sure. The "not so good" last two sets make me feel like I will not increase my strength effectively enough to dodge plateus. So, I read about periodization, and I have developed another workout routine that incorporates a strength week. I should add more information to the thought process behind my workout routines; I increase the weight used by 10 lbs for every decreased 2 reps. For instance, if I bench 225 for 12 reps, I would do 235 for 10 reps. Now that I have that explained, I would like to add further that I cycle the weight I start every set with every 12 weeks. Back to the 225 lbs on the bench; I would use that as my first set weight for 12 weeks, then on the 13th week or first week of a new cycle, I would do 235 for 12 reps. I still want to use these principles, but with a different set/rep scheme that allows 3 weeks for hypertrophy training and 1 week for strength. I would repeat this cycle two more times to complete my 12 week cycle. For my hypertrophy weeks, I want to do six sets per exercise with rep schemes of 12, 12, 10, 10, 8, 8...progressing the weight up 10 pounds every time the rep count changes. I would do this for three weeks, then I would enter my strength week where I would do 3 sets of 6, 4, 2...also progressing the weight up by 10 lbs. After the strength week it is back to the three consecutive hypertrophy weeks.