rubenhan has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) rubenhan has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

don't go paranoid over ketosis

Hey, guys,

I've been doing CKD on and off for two years, and to tell you the truths, when I was doing CKD, I was always paranoid over the magical 30g carb limit and being in ketosis.

But as I've been doing CKD and read more about CKD, I’ve learned you shouldn’t fret over 30g carb limit and being in ketosis. Why? Here are my reasonings.

1. The so-called Keto Guru Lyle Mcdonald says so.
    Ok, I know Lyle is not a nutritionist god, and not everything he says is 100% true. But I think he is one of the few reliable nutritionists who gives due diligence when he claims some theory. His arguments most always come up with scientific researches. And a lot of the basis of the popular ketogenic diet methods is based on his book The Ketogenic Book, so his opinion should carry some weight.
    In this link, Lyle Mcdonald reviews a research where they compare ketogenic low-carb diet vs nonketogenic low-carb diet. According to the research, there is no significant different in fat loss between those two diets as long as the calorie intake is in check. Obviously, as his review mentions, there might be other reason for a dieter to stay in ketosis. For me, I feel incredibly better in terms of mood and energy stability, so I try to stay in ketosis. But in terms of fat loss, there is no real difference.

www (dot) bodyrecomposition (dot) com/research-review/ketogenic-low-carbohydrate-diets-have-no-metabolic-advantage-over-nonketogenic-low-carbohydrate-diets-research-review.html