Mark Rejhon has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Smith Machine bench press versus normal bench press

Hi,

Gym beginner here, learning a lot pretty fast.

Need to figure out the best method to do a bench press when I don't have a spotter handy. I am also deaf and consequently prefer to work out alone, as well. The YMCA that I go to, has a Smith Machine. They would seem to be safer to use than doing the regular bench press if there is no spotter handy. However this website's top 30 tips for beginners, recommend against Smith Machine at least for beginners.

Would anybody care to comment on the use of the Smith Machine if used specifically for the bench press? Especially since it seems much safer if no spotter is handy, since you can quickly lock the barbell at any position.

Thanks,
    Mark Rejhon
    Last edited by Mark Rejhon; 05-28-2003 at 06:50 PM.

kenG has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    Does the YMCA/gym you go to have a power rack? Instead of using a smith machine for bench pressing use the power rack. Adjust the safety spotters accordingly so that if you fail at a given weight, the spotters will catch the bar before it hits your chest. Even once you reach positive failure, you'll still be able to lower the weight gently until it touches/rests upon the spotters.

MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500) MiloMan is a jewel in the rough. (+500)
    Agreed; I'd even recommend doing bench presses with dumbbells, rather than using a smith machine. Smith machines are good for some things - like being used as a towel rack.
    aut viam inveniam aut faciam

Hmmm. Not sure.