Arnold1337 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Unhappy How do I not lose muscle mass while traveling abroad?

Hey everyone,

I am an 18 yr old guy, and I recently started lifting weights around 1.5 months ago to gain muscle mass. So far I have put on around 8 lbs, but I am still sorta skinny. I'm around 186 lbs and I am 6'4. I lift 30 lbs right now, among other exercises, and have a great diet - basically, everything seems to be working fine.

However, in a few weeks I am going to be traveling abroad for 8 months, which means although I can still do a lot of my other exercises (for example, push ups, sit ups, etc etc), I may not be able to do any weight training. I'm worried that I not only will not gain any more muscle mass during this trip, but that I may actually decrease in muscle mass if I don't workout.

I was looking at this travel weight product at activeforever.com/p-1364-aquabells-dumbbells-water-weights.aspx

It can carry up to 16 lbs per dumbbell. I am well past that amount though, and I'm probably going to be past 30 lbs per dumbbell before I leave.

My question is, even if I buy this and use it, will my muscles still be able to grow (because it has less resistance than I am used to)? Will I just have to do a lot more reps? Or, will my muscles actually decrease in size? Or will they stay just stay the same? Hopefully they at least stay just as toned and ready for when I get back?

Anyway, thank you very much for your time!