Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    ttribe has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Legs always extremely sore after workout.

I am 28 y/o male 6ft tall 200lbs, 15% bf. Always active. Been lifting 4 to 5 days a week for the last 3 years.

I do a five day split:

Monday chest
    Tues Back
    Wednesday shoulders/traps
    Thursday Legs
    Friday arms

I train pretty hard. But I recently started training my legs a bit easier in hopes of coping with the pain afterwords. Every other muscle I train gets just a little sore/tender for a day or so, but does not hinder my daily activities at all. However legs, every time I train them, the following day they are a little weak, then the 2nd and 3day I can hardly walk.

I used to do bar squats with 315-365 pounds. I have since lowerd to starting at 225 and working up to 275. And lowered overall intensity, but I still feel completely crippled for the following 3 to 4 days after.

Normally My leg day consists of:

Squat - 3 sets of 8 to 12
    hack squats - same
    leg extensions
    leg curls
    various workouts for calves.

I eat fairly well and take pre/post workout protein shakes. I stretch before and after workouts.

Does anybody have any suggestions or ideas? I train my upper body with much more intensity and recover much faster. I understand legs are much larger muscles, but dang. I can feel every square inch of muscle between me knees to my hips. Butt included. My quads are where the pain is. the rest is just sore.

Also, I have tried leaving out extensions and just getting my quads hit from either squats or deadlifts, but results are the same.

BRB, Bulking Forever. ricohitman's Avatar