nsuthe09 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

More Compound Lifts?

Before anything I am...

19years old
    about 5'11"
    150-155pounds (yes I know, pretty damn thin)

I am a freshman in college and have been lifting fairly seriously since Junior year of high school when I really put effort into trying to learn more about lifting and to try to get buff, which has always been a tough task seeing as I am a so-called hardgainer. Although, I can tell I have clearly made gains over the several past years.

My question is, how important are compound lifts in relation to isolated lifts and what sort of ratio should I have in my workout to achieve maximum gains?

I have tried several different routines over the years but recently I have been very focussed on arms, shoulders, and calves, as I feel those are my weakest points. The problem is I have found myself straying from big compound lifts because I feel that lifts like bench and pull ups etc. cause more growth in my torso area than my arms and I end up looking unproportional.

However, I am beginning to wonder whether those compound lifts are vital for achieving gains in smaller muscles as well as big muslces?

Let me know, Thanks.

BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10) BenSL8 is on a distinguished road. (+10)
    they are very vital.
    compound > isolation always bro.
    bench press, back squat, pullup/chinup/combat up, clean/snatch, military [shoulder press], dips and rows should be the base of everything you do.

as for calves, try standing calf raises, using a smith machine. just google for vids of it good luck, keep us updated bro!