Synergy14 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Shoulder Press / Bench Work

Hey guys, this is my first post here although I have been reading many of the threads over the last few weeks.

I've had this issue with my left shoulder basically ever since I started lifting weights and I'm hoping someone on here might be able to help me resolve it or at least share some insight.

Whenever I do Military Press, Arnie Press, Incline or Bench Press my left shoulder gives me issues. Today was especially bad hence me making this thread. From the bottom-most position on all the exercises to the finishing position my left shoulder has a tendancy to wander outwards and deviate from a vertical motion. It is especially prevalent when I use dumbbells as opposed to a bar (obviously) but even with a barbell my left side lags badly.

One would think that my left shoulder is simply weaker but there has to be more to it than that since I have dropped the amount I lift to focus on strengthening it specifically.

I don't know if it matters, but typically I start around 55 and make my way to 75-80 lb dumbbells on military press over the course of 4 sets and slightly less than that for my bench (I know, my chest is lagging).

Anyhow if anyone knows and strategies, possible technique flaws (although I try and execute excellent technique) or has any advice I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!