lbeck has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Trying to build muscle and lose a little flubber

I'm new to weight lifting. My goal is to put on some muscle mass and definition and lose a little bit of fat that I have. I'm 6' tall and weigh 170 pounds. I've been pretty sknny my whole life. Within the past 2 or 3 years I've been collecting weight around my belly, hips, butt and thighs and a little around my chest. Its not a lot by any means but it definitely shows. I have little muscle, at least that is showing so I started a work out program. I work my upper body one day, lower body another day and then usually repeat my upper body on a third day. Below are the supplements I'm taking.

Creatine, Whey Protein, After Max (on days I workout), Opti-Men vitamin.

I'm eating anywhere from 4-6 times a day so I'm getting the food intake that I need and I eat about 90% of whole foods. I feel I'm eating pretty good. I've heard that if you want to build muscle you should stay away from cardio but I'm noticing that with all the extra food I'm eating and the fat I already had it appears to be getting worse. I've only been on my program for about 2 weeks.

So I really need to know if I should be doing cardio along with my regular weight lifting. Will I eventually burn the fat I have without doing cardio? If I do cardio, will it take longer to build muscle mass?

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by lbeck; 10-15-2009 at 08:22 AM. Reason: typos