reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) reckliss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Giant Loss of Strength During Texas Method Program

Hey,

(4 weeks ago)
    Squat: 5x5 260lbs(Volume Day) .8*Volume Day(Recovery Day) 1RM 295lbs(Max Day)
    Bench: 5x5 235lbs(Volume Day) .8*Volume Day(Recovery Day) 1RM 265lbs(Max Day)
    Row: 5x5 175lbs(Volume Day) .8*Volume Day(Recovery Day) 1RM 215lbs(Max Day)

Weight: 180 -> 215

I have been running the Texas Method Program for about 3 months now. My squat has gone from 215 1RM -> 295 1RM, bench 180 3RM -> 265 1RM, and row 135 3RM -> 215 1RM. So I have had awesome gains over the life of this program. But over the past three weeks I have hit a big wall. Four weeks ago I went into the gym and hit my 1 rep max for squat. Three weeks ago on the volume day I couldn't complete the 3rd set of five for my squat. My legs felt shot so I decided to stop and give them a week off. I hit 1RM for both bench and row that week. Two weeks ago I tried squatting again with less weight probably around 245 on the volume day but I felt the same as the week before. I decided to do 3 sets of a really reduced weight and give my legs a second week off. I also wouldn't hit 1RM for both bench and squat that week. Because of the reduced performance and feeling tired in the gym I decided to take a week off entirely from the weight room. I came back today (Volume Day) and tried squatting 225 for 5 sets of 5. 1st set-4reps, 2nd set-5reps, 3rd set-failure after 2reps. Bench I would go for 225 5 sets of 5 but would