Hi, I was wondering if any of you know if this protein is suitable for vegetarians. Does it contain any animal sources?
Also, would it be suitable for vegans?
Thanks a lot!
09-22-2009, 01:00 PM #1
09-22-2009, 01:02 PM #2
09-22-2009, 05:04 PM #3
09-22-2009, 05:08 PM #4
09-24-2009, 03:56 AM #5
I asked ON this question and I just received an email from them today. Looks like it is vegetarian:
Thank you for choosing Optimum Nutrition to help you create your bigger
picture. Yes, our 100% Whey Gold Standard is suitable for
lacto-vegetarians (those vegetarians who can consume dairy products).
The only animal derived ingredient within our product is the whey itself
which comes from cow's milk. The rennet that we use in the
manufacturing process is either fungally and/or synthetically derived.
Best of health!
Consumer Affairs Rep
Optimum Nutrition/American Body Building
09-24-2009, 05:09 AM #6
You already have all the answers but no, by my definition it wouldn't be "vegetarian", but it would count as lacto-vegetarian in my book since it contain milk products. I don't know how lacto-vegetarians usually see cheese products in the case of the crap from calves stomaches, but I assume most of them eat cheese and pizza and such so ..
It would definitly not be vegan.
There also exist among others whole milk proteins, casein (major protein in the milk), egg and in the case of vegetarian proteins:
soy which is most common,
rice which is also of high quality,
pea which has a worse amino acid profile taste pea but complement the rice good and finally
hemp which is more of a whole food product with less protein and more fat acids and other nutrients, also the highest price.
Beyond those kinda all amino acid products will be vegan, so you most bcaa and eaa products would work, the issues there could be in other ingredients and things like flavorings or colors.
I use lots of local brand "Bodyscience EAA-X" and EAA-XX and also got Controlled Labs Purple Wraath.
10-17-2015, 03:58 PM #7
The response from Optimum Nutrition is not consistent. Based on the reply on their facebook page their rennet is from various sources including animal, microbial and vegetable. See for reference facebook. com/optimumnutrition/posts/10152148872574952 (i wasnt allowed to post a url so added a 'space' in the link)
10-17-2015, 04:04 PM #8
- Join Date: Jan 2012
- Location: Manchester, Greater Manchester, United Kingdom (Great Britain)
- Stats: 5'11", 180 lbs
- Posts: 2,670
- Rep Power: 11488
By Infusion943 in forum Misc.Replies: 23Last Post: 09-23-2007, 03:09 PM
By Lingweno in forum Teen BodybuildingReplies: 16Last Post: 07-01-2007, 07:19 PM
By Dominikm in forum Losing FatReplies: 10Last Post: 05-19-2007, 04:43 PM
By Roughneck75 in forum SupplementsReplies: 18Last Post: 06-17-2006, 09:36 AM
By grundel in forum SupplementsReplies: 1Last Post: 07-09-2003, 03:59 PM