187maccmoss has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Knee Hurts when I squat

So I started lifting 2 weeks ago. I temporatily only have dumbells. I have strong legs (I think) and I grabbed 40lbs on each arm (heaviest dumbell I have) and when I squated my right knee hurt when I was squating down.

Have any idea what it might be ? If I should continue squats or ask a doctor ?

I don't feel it as much if I lighten the weight.

BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) BFJ is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500)
    Originally Posted by 187maccmoss View Post
    So I started lifting 2 weeks ago. I temporatily only have dumbells. I have strong legs (I think) and I grabbed 40lbs on each arm (heaviest dumbell I have) and when I squated my right knee hurt when I was squating down.

for the time being it sounds like you have done your own medicine, if it hurts, don't do it, or at least lighten up till it goes away as you have done. you might consider posting a video of you squatting because without seeing it, it's really hard to tell. underlying problems, flexibility, muscle imbalances, poor technique, body structure, etc. could all influence why you are feeling pain. be careful, i have patellar tendonitis that nags me to this day from being really stupid about squats and not listening to my body when i was younger. train hard, but train smart.
    barbell1.com - home of The Barbell1 Show - the only 5 day/wk Online Radio on building muscle
    Listened to in 171 Countries, Downloaded 1.3 million X in 2014-15