gegarza has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Need Advice on Bulking Phase

Hello,

I would like to know the answers to a couple of questions I have about a clean bulk. First off all, I'm pretty sure I got the nutrition portion down to a "T" as far as bulking goes.

Here are my current stats:

Height: 5'8"
    Weight: 155 lbs
    Current %BF: 9% (man, I worked hard this summer to get to 9%, LOL)
    Sleep: 6-8 hours per night
    I consider myself an ectomorh (hard gainer)

Based on my BMR, age and activity level, I have calculated that I will need approximately 3000 calories per day in order to gain mass; I will spread these calories out over 5-6 meals per day.

But, what about my gym workout routine? Because of my work schedule, I prefer to stick to a 3 day split, in which I hit each body part really hard only once per week.

1) Can someone suggest a 3 day split for bulking, say Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

2) I have been working out now for 2 years. How many total sets should I be doing for major muscle groups, and for minor muscle groups? I was thinking 10 sets for major groups and 6-8 for minor groups. Not enough sets maybe?

3) I faithfully consume a preworkout and postworkout protein shake by Optimum nutrition. I will be getting 50% of my protein intake from real food, and the rest form whey/Casein. Should I be taking any other supplements during my bulk?

4) Should completely abandon cardio during my clean bulk?

Thanks you all so much, and I would greatly appreciate anyones honesty and advice!

george

Registered User WeightGain_4000's Avatar