TheGazelle has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Shin splints - darn this hurts - newbie here

I just started weight training - 5'4 at 106 pounds - seriously just started three days ago.

I went to my first session and the weight trainer immediately makes me run three laps, the first as quickly as I could. Then I went from weights to running a lap (in door - 12 laps = 1 mile). The next day I had shin splints or the start of them. They still hurt. Yesterday I went to a womans shoe place where they looked at how I run and recommended the stability brooks shoe. I tried on some other one that had more cushion but was on the fence between the two shoes (forgot the name of the other one). I was in a motion control shoe New Balance prior and the people at this running shoe place stated that is probably one of the reasons why I got shin splints. So I have these shoes and they don't feel very cushy compared to the others. Due to the lack of the cushy feel, I wonder if it will completely help me. I am pretty thin so I was thinking a stability shoe with more cushion instead of the Brooks.

Does the cushion really matter. If it does, would it be better to trade it in for another shoe or buy some of those orthodontics they sell?

Any thoughts for this newbie.

Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50) Ramon66 will become famous soon enough. (+50)
    just because the shoe feels like it has more cushion, does not mean it does.
    the firmer shoe might actualy dispurse more energy than the softer one.
    I like the MIZUNOS personaly.