Bodybuilding.com Information Motivation Supplementation
in:

The World’s #1 Bodybuilding And Fitness Forum - Save Up To 50% Off Retail Prices In Our Bodybuilding.com Store!

blz is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Are protein shakes good for guys with Gilbert's syndrome?

Hey folks,

i've been doing swimming and athletics for 3 years and for 6 months i've been hitting the gym. I'm 184 cm(about 6 feet) tall and my weight is about 72-74kg(164 pounds).

I have a fast metabolism, meaning that i can eat like 5 times a day and still burn it off. I never seem to achieve to go above 75KG.

About 2 years go i found out that i have gylbert's syndrome which is a liver disease(they say it's inherited)

Gilbert's syndrome produces an elevated level of unconjugated bilirubin in the bloodstream but normally has no serious consequences. Mild jaundice may appear under conditions of exertion, stress, fasting, and infections, but the condition is otherwise usually asymptomatic. [4][5]

It has been reported that GS may contribute to an accelerated onset of neonatal jaundice[6
    More at wiki -> en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gilbert%27s_syndrome

My main goal is to gain weight and with it body muscle, so far i've only achieved to become more fibrous.

My question would be: would drinking protein shakes(not in an exaggerated matter) cause issues for me & my liver?

Please only answer if you can give a precise answer, if you are not sure, please dont.

Thanks,
    Tom

blz is on a distinguished road. (+10)
    C'mon, really no one has experienced this issue?

Stats: 5'8", 151 lbs