Registered User MichaelChurilov's Avatar
    MichaelChurilov has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Big Compound Movements for Putting On Mass?

I had an assessment with a trainer at my gym a couple weeks back, and he told me to stop pretending I was a pro bodybuilder and just completely neglect doing isolation movements.

Basically, hell to bicep isolation, tricep isolation, etc.

He suggests I do nothing but huge, heavy, compound movements.

For instance, Bench Presses, Rows, Squats, Deadlifts.

Alright, that seems like it MIGHT work. I can definetely see why it would. I've read from a few sources saying that compound huge movements release more muscle building hormones and such.

He also suggests I do all this in one day, as in full body workouts, rest a day or two or three, then repeat.

So a typical workout would like such:

4 x 8-12 Incline Bench Press
    4 x 8-12 Flat Bench Press
    2-4 x 8-12 Dumbell (Incline or Flat, alternate every workout) Bench Press

4 x 8-12 Cable Rows
    4 x 8-12 Widegrip Pulldowns
    2-4 8-12 Machine Rows

4 x 8-12 Squats
    4 x 8-12 Deadlifts
    2-4 x 8-12 Romanian Deadlifts

Ab Superset: Plank until failure followed by crunches until failure x 4

1) Does this seem like it would work to get bigger?
    2) Would this not neglect a few key muscles, namely the Lateral Deltoid heads and the Posterior Deltoid Heads? Also the Trapezius? All the movements seem to not hit these.
    3) Is a day or two enough rest for my body to be ready to take it again?
    4) Is the routine highlighted any good?

Thanks all in advance, much appreciated, etc.

-Mike