chrisk500 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

How do you know if your intense enough?

This is my first post but I have been reading these boards for months. I have been weightlifting for about 8 months now and am starting to see decent gains especially in my upper body. I can't seem to get rid of the stomach fat but I also know that my diet is not dialed in although I am trying. My question is - everyone talks about intensity of training. I follow a routine where I do 4-5 exercises per body part, usually 3 sets of 8-10 reps each. I always train to failure on my last set and can actually only get in 4-6 reps on my last set. My muscles just seem to just stop though and I don't get the feeling that I could almost do one more rep if I just try a little harder. So what actually is intense? I also see posts that say don't overtrain and don't go to failure..... if you don't train to failure it doesn't seem that you would ever "feel the burn". How do you know if you are training hard enough without over training?

Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) Wayne Evans has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000)
    Originally Posted by chrisk500 View Post