NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10) NathanielS is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Quick question on training for strength :]

I've asked this in the teen section but I'm sure the place made for questions like this wouldn't be a bad idea haha.

Quick background info before the question itself, although below is the question;

As anyone knows who sees me post every now and then I started lifting again 6 weeks ago finally after about 6 months break. I never had a set regime as such like before I kinda just improvise my workouts alway mixing it up and it's worked fine for me in the past. I was short on money so I tried the gallon of milk diet thingy since it was cheap for me and found after 5 weeks I'd lost about 8lbs, thankfully only fat it seems but I dropped weight on my lifts too, bench went from like 175 (1rm) to 165, deadlift from 285 to 270 and squat although I only done it like 4 times started at 225 and is now 200.

short;

So basically I was weak already and now I'm weaker, I want to not necessarily power lift as such but focus my training more entirely around strength, I have a new much better diet now and things can start climbing, I just have a few quick questions;

1. What's over training in strength training when it comes to a beginner? Lets say most of my training was 3-5 reps (ofcourse), then how many sets should I stay around?

2. What is the general frequency able to train at? Rippetoes shows exercises at twice a week but squat 3 times a week, so would twice a week for everthing in general be acceptable?