Registered User MendicantMuscle's Avatar
    MendicantMuscle has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Veterans, please take a look at my workout.

OK. Before I begin, let me say that by and large I'm new to the prospect of putting on muscle so any tips from you more experienced guys would be extremely appreciated.

Prior to joining this forum, I snooped around the web looking at various articles detailing the reps and how many sets I should do at what weight, etc.

Before I did low weight, lots of reps like 8-12 w/ about 4 sets. So on the bench press I would slide 45 lbs on each side and try to hammer out at least 8. Same procedure applies to all the rest of the exercise for my various muscle groups. This has been my weight lifting procedure since I began about a year ago. I've made some gains but I'm wondering if I should change it up.

(By the way, I'm doing a split routine so Monday, Wednesday, Friday is upper body and Sunday and Tuesday is lower body.)

So lately I've been doing a low rep, high weight work out as follows. All units are pounds.

Bench Press (Including Bar Weight)
    4 x 165 (Felt this was too heavy so I went down to 160. I'll probably be starting at 160 from now on unless you guys think 165 is good)
    5 x 160
    4 x 160
    3 x 160

Bicep Curl (EZ Curl Bar)
    4 x 60 (Plus whatever the bar weighs)
    5 x 55
    5 x 55

Tricep Pull Down (Rope handle)
    6 x 125
    6x 127.5
    5 x 130

Iso Row
    5 at 125 lb on each side of the machine
    ''
    ''

Shoulder Press
    5 at 50 lb
    ''
    ''

Ok there you have it.

I'm trying to get at least 4 reps out of each exercise (I got three reps in on the last bench press because I think I overdid it on the first set with 165 lb)

Anyways, I'd like to hear your guys thoughts and just see if you think I'm doing alright and my workout looks good.