keysers0ze has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

How much weight should I lift?

I'm new to weight lifting and I was wondering how do I know how much I should lift?

Do I lift weights that are limit me to a certain number of reps before failure? For example on the chest press machine I can do the first set of 12 reps but in my second set I struggle to do the 12 and have to lower my weights a little. Should I set my weights to something where I can do 12 reps successfully for each set?

Thanks!

mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10) mc335e is on a distinguished road. (+10)
    It depends what kind of goals you have...

More weight, less reps = Size/Strength
    Less weight, more reps = Your'e going to get lean(er)
    I'm that guy who gets too in to his music at the gym and starts singing and playing the leg drums without even realizing wtf I'm doing.

jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10) jpot is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Train to failure

You should train to failure every set thats what builds muscle also mix the reps up you dont need to do 12 every time anywhere from 6-15 is considered acceptable

being skinny fat sucks Want2BeStrong's Avatar