Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    the_koz has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

New Guy, with a few Questions

First off, Id like to say that I am very happy to have Discovered this place... and have enjoyed surfing around in it... seems like some nice people here...

Second, Im fairly new to the Body Building world, and in no way am I close to it yet! LOL... Let me give some back ground...

From High School till about 5 years ago, I have been 5'10" and 135# (give or take 5 lbs), A bean pole... Im 42 now, and about a year ago I was 175 lbs with 24% Body Fat. I looked like a Pregnant Bean Pole. I just got fed up, discovered this site and bought the book "HUGE" from the Online store. After a year of halfassed months followed by intense months I have gotten to 192 lbs with 16% to 18% body fat (the machine never gives the same answer)... My Goal is to get to about 210 lbs with 10% body fat.

Now here is my questions... I have pretty much leveled out, plataued... I have been following the book as best I can, but I dont have a partner/spotter on many of the big weights

Question 1 : Machines? I dont like using them because it seemes to take away all the little stablizer muscles work. What is your opinions on using the machines for BENCH, SQUATS and DEAD LIFTS?

Question 2 : I have a bum shoulder and right knee... the SHoulder doesnt give me any trouble unless I do Incline Bench, the knee, well that one is tricky... Any helpful Ideas?

Question 3 : I have been thinking on trying to shock the muscles by lowering the weight and increasing the number of sets and Reps significantly.... Sugestions?

Question 4 : How do they (Professional Body Builders) EAT That much? Remember I have been a beanpole most of my life and only got heavy when I hit my mid 30's and kept drinking beer like I was in my 20's. Ive since cut the beer down ALOT! and Have TRIED to increace my food intake (and have to a point) but I think I have reached my max intake level.. My stomach feels bloated all day.