PDA

View Full Version : No formal experience, degrees, or cert. Where to work in the industry?

TheCaz
01-08-2012, 01:20 PM
I'd like to make a database for others in the same situation I am in. I am currently studying to get my CPT this Spring/Summer. But, I am looking for a new job in the mean time, and I would like to keep it in the Health/Fitness industry, so it looks better on my resume.

I already have applied to GNC, Vitamin Shoppe, Complete Nutrition. Where else should I go to apply to? I am pretty much down to do anything in the field. Looking for a FT job preferably.

I was thinking of applying to some gyms in my area, but with no experience, I don't know what I would do.

Thanks in advance, reps to all.

kristinpete38
01-08-2012, 04:43 PM
If you work front desk at the gym, they're more likely to hire you as a trainer later on. This way, you'll be able to greet and talk to potential future clients as they head in to work out.

TheCaz
01-08-2012, 06:20 PM
If you work front desk at the gym, they're more likely to hire you as a trainer later on. This way, you'll be able to greet and talk to potential future clients as they head in to work out.

Thanks. I kind of thought that, but honestly I wasn't sure. I'll look into it. They usually have girls at the front desk though IME. For obvious reasons. Repped, poppin that rep cherry.

Edited for a girl. Sorry.

kristinpete38
01-08-2012, 06:29 PM
1) I'm female.
2) The gym I work at has an even combination of male and female employees. I don't see how that could be a female job.

I work as a trainer, btw. Not at the front desk.

TheCaz
01-08-2012, 08:24 PM
1) I'm female.
2) The gym I work at has an even combination of male and female employees. I don't see how that could be a female job.

I work as a trainer, btw. Not at the front desk.