PDA

View Full Version : Some Basic Questions about Benches

kennethdwelch
10-29-2010, 01:40 PM
hi guys, i'm new here and just getting into this stuff. i'm benching below 200lbs right now and have a Marcy bench set (yea, the one from walmart - lol) with a 1" bar. i have two questions...

1. how much weight can a typicall 1" (10 lb) bar support? (this isn't listen on the packages or online) it's a 3 piece bar with a hollow center and the ends (solid) bolted in about 2 inches. the cheapest of the cheap!

with the interests of a college student with little to no $$, i'm looking to wait as long as possible (in terms of max lbs supported for benching) before shelling out for new equipment.

2. why do even name brand benches (like Gold's for example) not list max supported weights? i know i won't be putting a significant load on them just yet, but still.

no need to laugh, i know i'm a noob.

thanks

Wildtim
10-29-2010, 01:57 PM
I don't have any exact answers for you. My advice is to start watching Craigslist now and be ready to jump when a good deal pops up on the stuff you really need.

My best guess for number one is..........very little. Cheap but solid Olympic bars have been known to bend with as little as 300 pounds on them and solid 1" standard bars five feet long often bend with around 300#'s. How long a hollow bar will last is anyone's guess. I would predict less than six months if you get on a good program Like Mark Rippetoes "Starting Strength" from the book of the same name and eat like you actually mean it.

The reason for number 2 is quite simple, they do not want you to know. I used to have a Marcy bench and Squat stand that I was able to find max weights for. The bench could support 600#'s which sounds like a lot until you realize that has to include the user as well and even at well under that stated weight things got pretty shaky. My stands were rated to 300#'s which for a decent squat simply isn't enough.