PDA

View Full Version : Question about depression...

njg13
10-22-2009, 10:19 AM
I have a freind who is 18, she is still in high school and depressed. Basically, she just hates her life. She has considered taking antidepressants but there is no way her mother would let her. She asked me if I knew of anything herbal or over the counter that she could take that would help her to get over this depression. On one hand, I have no medical background and feel very aprehensive about giving her advice about this. On the other hand, I know she is having a really hard time and that she probably can't just get over this on her own. Her mom is a major control freak and would never even take the time to listen to her, much less get her some help. She'd probably tell her to shut up and suck it up. It's a sad situation. She IS 18 now and I feel like if she recognizes that she needs help and is willing to try something safe, I want her to do that as opposed to drinking, smoking and drugs, which I know are either happening or just around the corner. What do I do? Is there something natural that she can take?

RebeccaG
10-22-2009, 10:23 AM
Why can't she go to her doctor on her own?

I would not take online advice on this one. She needs to see a doctor.

Good luck to your friend.

medjen
10-22-2009, 10:26 AM
Since she's legally an adult, she should be able to get some help on her own.

The internet isn't the best place for medical advice.

njg13
10-22-2009, 10:28 AM
Why can't she go to her doctor on her own?

I would not take online advice on this one. She needs to see a doctor.

Good luck to your friend.