PDA

View Full Version : Newbie..Is working out twice a day pushing it??

erifly
01-22-2009, 07:29 PM
Hey everybody. My story: I used to be very active...got extremely busy..ate nothing but mcdonalds and other fastfoot junk..and one year later I had gained about 50lbs. Was at 207lbs at one point but now with two years working out VERY inconsistently I'm at 195lbs. At 5'7" with 33% bodyfat I'm considered obese. I have been carrying this FAT for three years now and I'm ready to GET IT OFF.

***My plan*** which has been in effect for two weeks already includes hitting the gym twice a day(morning/afternoon and night around 9-10pm). Strictly Cardio. I hate lifting weights(and want to just focus on losing weight in general until i get to around 165-170). Surprisingly I retained a lot of my endurance(Can run on treadmill at 5 mph for 40 sweaty mins straight). My question is do you think I'm pushing it too much with not enough rest? Is this bad? I mean I have lots of motivation that leads to energy to keep me working out. I have also cut my calorie intake as well from 2800(to maintain weight) to about 2000.

aznstealthsnake
01-22-2009, 07:32 PM
thats too much and won't give time for muscles to recover. once a day for 2 hours @ 4-5x a week is sufficient.

erifly
01-22-2009, 07:45 PM
Whats the difference between once a day for 2 hrs(and no way I think I have enough endurance to run that long..lol) and twice a day at 60 mins a piece?

thats too much and won't give time for muscles to recover. once a day for 2 hours @ 4-5x a week is sufficient.

Kenai603
01-22-2009, 07:50 PM

Normally, if he was talking about lifting weights, then I would say that it's too much. WAY too much.

However, it seems that he is talking about strictly cardio. In my opinion, that isn't too bad. It's not far off from what I would do on a lot of days.