PDA

View Full Version : I need help!!!!

musclehealth
10-24-2008, 12:56 PM
Hello, I am a 45 year old man and up to two months ago I was leading a sedentary life. Then I joined a gym and at first I started with some cardio exercises. After a while I started training with weights and I got hooked. I started changing my life bit by bit. I started eating healthier foods, I increased the number of meals to 5, I STOPPED SMOKING, instead of soft drinks I drink water or green tea. I even bought some protein powder and vitamins! I dreamt of having a nice muscular body to boost my self-condifence which is underground at the moment. All was going well until yesterday. Yesterday I was reading an article on this site written by Ivan Blazquez that puzzled me alot. These are some quotes:

?When do muscles grow? Typically in early years of life (~11-20 years of age)?

?Muscle growth or accretion in adult years is very, very hard to accomplish. In fact, to gain 1-lb of pure muscle in a year as an adult without body fat gain would be astonishing.?

My question is this, can I have a muscular body? I don't want to become a bodybuilder but I would definitely want to pack on some muscle.
Am I wasting my time and money?

Marius_Ursus
10-24-2008, 01:00 PM
One of life's greatest mysteries...

We're talking about that topic here: http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=111456801

KingWill
10-24-2008, 01:03 PM
There is a pretty big thread on that subject -"Protein Requirements Article", right under your thread. You can see the vast majority on hear disagreed completely with the author. To answer your question, yes you can have a muscular body - just keep doing what you have started. You are not wasting your time and money.

EnigmaPower
10-24-2008, 01:05 PM
When do muscles grow? Typically in early years of life (~11-20 years of age)?
Typically doesn't mean ONLY. The article wasn't quite clear on that point.